Welcome to MBPost!  -
Shimano LX crankset review
Article
 

Shimano LX crankset review

  Featured on the Front Page
Shimano LX crankset review

Page Type: Article

 

Page By: BeDrinkable

Created/Edited: Jan 20, 2009 / Jan 15, 2010

Object ID: 269320

Hits: 11432 

Page Score: 74.92%  - 5 Votes 

Vote: Log in to vote

 

Specs:

Number two in my “I had to replace everything” series.

This is a review for the Shimano FC – M582 LX crankset. This crankset features forged aluminum cranks, aluminum outer & middle chainrings and a steel inner chainring, in a standard 44, 32, 22 ratio. It is supposedly compatible only with narrow, 9-speed chains, but I’ve heard that 8-speed chains work just fine.

This also utilizes Hollowtech II bottom bracket technology, with an external bearing BB. More on that a bit later.

Why I Bought It:

Well, this bike is my trusted friend and I didn’t want to give it up. That said, there was much that needed replacing. First, my cassette was starting to wear and grind, my brake lever had lost its spring-back, my front derailleur was failing, my brake arms were flexing. Finally, I had everything done that I could do myself and brought the bike into the LBS for them to replace the BB and small & middle chainrings. Well, it was my lucky day, because the middle chainring was irreplaceable (that’s right, it’s PRICELESS!). Instead of the now-standard, every chainring gets bolted to the crank, my small chainring was bolted to the middle chainring via tabs (see pic). So, I had to spring for a whole new crankset, which is good and bad.
 
IRREPLACEABLE!
poor, sad chainring

Conclusion:

What's good ...

1: I can actually feel the improvement in power transfer with this crank. Keep in mind that I am moving from the classic tapered BB, so that’s most likely where the improvement is coming from. Other suspects are: the new chain (least likely); the increase in crankarm length (probably does affect it some); the fact that this BB is not worn out and does not sound like it’s filled with tiny, saucer-shaped ball bearings (most likely, and also an apt description).

2: The shifting is crisp, but again, this could either be the new chainrings or the new derailleur, but most likely a combination.

3: Also, it’s kinda cool you can see right through the BB.

So now we get to …

What's bad ...

1: First of all, there’s the lifespan issue. This is not something I have yet experienced, but others certainly have (see this thread). As Andy says, why take something that has worked so well for so long, e.g. sealed internal bearings, and move them to the outside? It don’t make no sense.

2: Maintenance! Maintenance! Maintenance! I guess it’s because of the design change, but rather than the old, “pound ‘em in and they're on for life” approach with tapered BBs, cranks are now held on with these bolts. And, as bolts will do, they loosen. It’s not a huge complaint, but every bit counts.
 
Crank bolts
These bolts will loosen.

Finally:

I got a pretty good deal with this because Shimano is trying to clear out some inventory prior to the release of their new S-LX gear. I don’t know why they’re adding yet another category of crap, but if you look, you may still be able to find a deal on this.

Update 01/15/2010

Having ridden pretty hard on this for a year, I can say it's held up well. I luckily haven't had any of the same bottom bracket issues that Andy has, but there is still time. It's nice to make the transition from the old tapered-end BB to the splined BB. I think I can feel the increased power transfer (but that may be my imagination). This product is no longer available, as Shimano has replaced the middle quality line (LX) with the new SLX. (See here). So unfortunately, the good deal has dried up.

Images

Crank boltsIRREPLACEABLE!LX crankset

Comments


[ Post a Comment ]
Viewing: 1-9 of 9

Andy LivoGreat Review

Andy Livo

Voted 10/10

..BD. Need more stuff like this on Mbpost. Be interested in your update. You have raised some good issues. Its great when everything is new and works the way it should!! I think the BB will hold in dry conditions. My XTR BB was pouring out brown stuff after 9 months. No surprises that it was the drive side only.

Have you had your frame resprayed? It looks like new in the background!
Posted Jan 21, 2009 12:33 pm

BeDrinkableRe: Great Review

BeDrinkable

Hasn't voted

Thanks for the kind words. I really feel that the trend in cycling gear toward more complication is a disservice to riders. What used to be maintenance-free now needs to be addressed yearly. My riding partner has three new BBs in five years.

And no, frame paint is original, but much like a proud mama, I polish it daily! Actually, it was just looking good because it was fresh from the LBS and coated with Pedro's orange cleaner.
Posted Jan 21, 2009 2:25 pm

Andy LivoRe: Great Review

Andy Livo

Voted 10/10

I agree this is true with Shimano. Some of the gear out of small high end companies is quality. I do like the Hope stuff which is not that much more than Shimano and made in UK too! I run Hope hubs which have been very good and maintenace free. I get about 3+ years out of the rear and then just change the cartridge bearings. Their disc brakes must be the best upgrade I have ever made. 6 years on and they are running flawlessly - shouldn't have said that!!
Posted Jan 21, 2009 3:50 pm

NotBeDrinkableAmusing Review

Hasn't voted

Hey, "BeDrinkable"--what's the story on Being Drinkable?
I LOVED this review! Since I know you in real life, I knew you had the capacity to be funny... but who knew bike part reviews could be clever!
I'm glad it was amusing, because I understood practically NOTHING that you said. "BB"? That must be ball bearing... It's like translating from Russian.
I also enjoyed the pictures & titles to the pix. One query: was it ABSOLUTELY crucial to put a greasy bike part on our carpet in order to take a picture of it?
Oh... here's another... is the "bike partner" you refer to actually a wonderful old geezer known to me as "dad" and to you as "dad-in-law"? (Does it detract from street cred to bike with geezery "father-in-laws" instead of hip "bike partners"?)
Are you sorry for ever showing me this?

Looking forward to future posts... if I'm allowed to read them...
Posted Jan 22, 2009 4:31 pm

Andy LivoRe: Amusing Review

Andy Livo

Voted 10/10

Well Mrs BeDrinkable (NotBeDrinkable) you found out his secret!! Your household sounds remarkably like mine. Chainrings on the carpet? My wife caught me taking a photo of a BB (bottom bracket) on the bedroom carpet! Rolling her eyes and making disparaging comments like, "You are really sad!" She would have no intention of logging on (thankfully!!!!) but she will be highly amused with your post!!
Posted Jan 23, 2009 6:36 am

BeDrinkableRe: Amusing Review

BeDrinkable

Hasn't voted

It's sad when my own wife logs on for the sole purpose of heckling me. I must really have pissed her off with the carpet grease!
Posted Jan 23, 2009 4:33 pm

Andy LivoRe: Amusing Review

Andy Livo

Voted 10/10

Mine has given up with me!!!! She has accepted I'm a bike nut and leaves me to it!
Posted Jan 23, 2009 5:20 pm

MalibuRe: Amusing Review

Malibu

Voted 10/10

hehe...glad my wife isn't so determined :) Although she did give me a hard time about laughing at this post...something about interacting more with my compy buddies than the family.
Posted Sep 19, 2009 9:37 pm

BeDrinkableRe: Amusing Review

BeDrinkable

Hasn't voted

hee hee! Mine is actually pretty good about it all. Besides, she introduced me to cycling, so it's all her fault!
Posted Sep 22, 2009 2:34 pm

Viewing: 1-9 of 9